Welcome new board members

On September 10, 2020 we hosted our 114th Annual General Meeting — and our first virtual one!

We were delighted to welcome four members to our Board of Directors: Nana Ayiku, Fayrial Leung, Julianne D’Aguiar and Stefanie Finateri, and were thrilled to re-elect Gabrielle Provencher and Robert Royer. We are looking forward to working with this esteemed group of dedicated volunteers.

We also bid farewell to our exceptional retiring board members, Bryan Buttigieg, Davina Dixon, Elaine Forde, Sonia Munoz, Mehevish Rizvi and Peter Spratt. We wish to thank them for all that they have done to support children, youth and families in the Durham Region.

We are also proud to have recognized one of our valued community partners, the Durham CAS Community Advisory Council. The Council was formed in 2016 to provide a collaborative and transparent forum to raise issues regarding systemic racism within child welfare, and make recommendations to inform our services.

We were also honoured to appoint our former Executive Director, Wanda Secord as an Honourary Society Member. Wanda retired in June 2019 after an esteemed 38 year long career in child welfare – 34 years of which were at DCAS.